Stump Carpenter Shop
Lorenza T. “Dowd” Stump built this workshop circa 1900; it was donated to the Historical Society by his grandson, Jim Bell. This building sat on a cut stone cellar and was located on Phillips Run, one mile south of Grantsville, near the wooden bridge across the creek. Mr. Stump was a carpenter; he was noted for building quality ladders and horse drawn equipment, such as wagons and sleds, and smaller items.
The carpenter shop was moved, intact, to the Heritage Village in 2009. A porch floor was added to the entrance and under the supervision of Jim Bell a shed was constructed on the side of the building to house larger pieces of equipment. Showcased within the building are tools, equipment, along with displays of barbed wire and nail collections.